Girls Weekend Report 

I posted a couple of weeks ago about having a girls weekend planned and being a bit nervous about it. Well, in case you were wondering, here’s how it went. 

It actually went really well. As I suspected, I enjoyed it more by being sober and really present than I would have if I had been buzzed. I was also more interested in having conversations and catching up and actually being engaged and focused on my friends and what they had to say. 

In the past, my wine (or whatever I was having at moment) always made me quite chatty. However, I didn’t really listen to what anyone else said and often could not even remember the conversations the next day.

It was so fabulous to not be that person anymore, and it was fulfilling to really connect with people. It was also fabulous to go bed sober, sleep well, and wake up feeling great. 

There was one dicey time when all of the hard booze came out- fancy drinks were made, shots were taken, and talk turned to favorite concoctions. That would have once fired me up to get my drink on, and it was really hard to sit through it and know I couldn’t be that person anymore. Ever. 

After a while though, I started to remember how pointless and stupid it was. There are way better things to spend time on than poisonous drinks that make you throw up and feel like shit the next day. I also remembered I was not going to be throwing up and waking up with a pounding head and a dry mouth. 

Things started to get a little boring after that. I guess the “real” party had started, and I just wasn’t interested. I decided I was okay with that though. I can be a little bored and leave early because I am sober and sober is AWESOME. 

– Marie

Leave a comment