The Corkscrew

I was cleaning a kitchen drawer last night and found a corkscrew. It was the manual kind and had a small knife and bottle opener attached. It was cheap and hurt my hand when used, so I only used it once. Since I don’t need it at all now, I figured it was time to chuck it, and I had no problem with that. 

However, I still have another corkscrew in my drawer. It’s a simple, neon green one, and it’s a manual one as well. This is the one I always used. I briefly thought about chucking it too, but I didn’t. I put it back. For some reason, I didn’t want to get rid of it. I still don’t. 

I can tell myself that it’s good to have on hand if guests come over and need it, but I know that’s a BS excuse. Is it because I think I may need it if I start drinking again? If that were true, I could just buy another. I’m not going to drink again anyway. 

Now that I type this out, it seems really moronic. What’s so hard about throwing out a common corkscrew, a corkscrew that I don’t use or need anymore? It’s amazing how hard this sobriety stuff can be sometimes, especially the small things that you think would be easy-peasy. It’s madness.  Tomorrow, that thing is gone. 

– Marie

2 thoughts on “The Corkscrew

Leave a comment